Losing a parent! 


My dad passed away when I was little. He left behind a wife and two young children, I was 10 years old and my brother was 6 years old.

It is only now that I am a Mum of two children that I can even begin to imagine how hard it was for my mum; ‘super hero’ doesn’t even sum up what she is to me.

Having to grieve is hard enough but to have to stay strong and look after two children on top of that is beyond amazing. I commend any Mum or Dad that have to raise their family, single handed for what ever reason; you are simply wonderful!

Losing a parent is hard whether your a child or an adult. It really is like losing a part of yourself. With being so young I didn’t fully understand why my life had changed so drastically in such a short space of time. My dad had passed away and within weeks we had moved from our family home in Cardiff, all the way to North Yorkshire where my mums family is.  I struggled! Not only was my dad gone, but my whole little world had changed.

Growing up wasn’t easy but then again when is it?. My mum gave me and my brother everything, she really did do the best she physically could, but she couldn’t be the father figure a little girl needed. To this day seeing the father daughter relationship that people have breaks my heart and that pain never goes away, you just learn to deal with it.

An event like this definitely does make you stronger but it has also affected me in ways I wish it hadn’t. I have low self esteem and I am constantly scared that people are going to leave me which doesn’t bode well for friendships and relationships. I have had to leave jobs through panic attacks and go through counselling to get to the stage I am today.

I am now however a strong believer in fate. If this event hadn’t happened in my life I wouldn’t be where I am today with an amazing, understanding husband and two beautiful children. I wouldn’t change my life for anything.

I guess I’m writing this blog to show that you can get through the other side of such a life changing event. It’s constant hard work, and it takes time but life does get better, you just have to be kind to yourself and know you are not alone.

I would love to hear any experiences you might of had and how you have got through them 🙂

Until next time
Rachel (baby moose)

6 thoughts on “Losing a parent! 

  1. My Dad passed away when I was 8 and my brother was 2. My mum brought us up alone in a time when single parenting was rare. There was no-one in my classes at school that didn’t have a Dad. I think it does change you, I’m not sure how different I would have been with my Dad’s influence in my life. I just know that my mum was amazing and coped so well. Losing her was so much harder, I’d do anything to speak to her again, to tell her what an amazing person she was and that I love her. #blogcrush

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely think I would be different if I had my dad still around but I like to think that I am a better person from having to go through it all and come out the other side! I don’t think I know anyone who doesn’t have both parents so I have never really had anyone other than my mum and brother who really ever understood what it’s like so it’s lovely to hear that I’m not alone. I can’t imagine what it’s like not to have your mum around but I can imagine how hard it would have been I am incredibly close with mine. Thank you so much for reading my blog and commenting it means so much to me xxx

      Like

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss. I can’t even begin to imagine losing a parent so young, but it is true that these tragic events make us stronger. I lost my brother when he was 17 and we felt as if things could never be the same but with time you do begin to heal (never fully as I’m sure you know), but now I’m sure he’s looking over my boys! Thanks for linking up to #MarvMondays. Kaye xo

    Like

  3. Oh I can’t imagine how hard this must’ve been (and no doubt still is). You have done so well to keep going and it’s lovely to hear that you feel like you’re coming out the other side now and also that you can see how positive things have come from the the pain and the suffering.

    #blogcrush

    Like

Leave a Reply

