Screw you insecurities! 


I came across this quote and it related so much to my life! 

I find that most weekends I end up in such a state with myself that the perfect weekend I had envisaged had ended up with arguments; but what is perfect? 

I spend so much time these days on social media looking at pictures of perfect families, perfect shots, perfect lighting etc that somewhere in my brain I think I am expecting this to be reality. Even though I know that these are only photographs, and sometimes just a lucky capture, I find that I am basing my life around people’s ‘highlights’.

I have always had a love hate relationship with social media! It’s great for so many reasons but also, I feel, incredibly powerful at affecting a persons mental health. Since I have started blogging and my Instagram journey I have found so many amazing mummies and daddies that tell it how it is. They are not glamourising their lives and it’s refreshing to see. 

Prior to blogging my feeds were full of people saying how amazing everything was and how wonderful their lives are, but really how truthful is this?

This is only my opinion, and some people’s lives might truly be wonderful but I know from experience, from seeing people’s social media pages and assuming everything is all rosy, then actually speaking to that person; their reality is a different story! 

So it makes me wonder, why bother to try and portray a perfect life? Who are you benefitting? 

I am by no means innocent. I have many a time made out everything is fine in my life or put a cryptic quote (which I see a lot of) just to get a bit of attention. 

I guess maybe I’m not alone in being scared, to be direct and actually speak the truth and air out my problems. Being insecure is something I know a lot about and I personally feel social media does nothing to help this! 

I would love to hear how social media makes you feel; does it affect you, as much as it does me?

Until next time 

Rachel (baby moose) 

Leave a Reply

